dairy-free · family · food · life · recipes

sleepless nights…

Some nights are like that…

You fall sound asleep on the couch by 9:00, flaking out on the better part of family movie night.  (I did manage to make the popcorn; but, I can’t honestly say I’m devastated to have missed out on Lemony Snicket.) When it’s time to actually go to bed, sweet slumber completely eludes you.

Tonight, however, it’s not totally without purpose.  I set the alarm for 1:30 a.m. so I can turn off the yogurt maker.  Yes, I’ve yet to logically time my yogurt making endeavours.  I’m sure there are plenty of people who plan ahead.  Unfortunately, I’m not one of them.  At least my darling dairy-free girl will have yogurt for her trip tomorrow.  I hope.  This is our second batch.  The first lot was what one might call an utter fail.  Why do they put trouble-shooting charts at the end of the manual, anyway?  Wouldn’t it be proactive to tell me all the things not to do before I do them?  Stay tuned…at least it smells like yogurt.

Update:

As you can see, this was definitely a strike two.  Ummm, eeewww.  Clearly trouble-shooting guides do not help my yogurt-making game regardless of their location in the manual.  My dairy-free girl left early this morning sans her coveted almond milk yogurt.  Somehow, I don’t think she’ll miss it while enjoying a week with some of her besties…

On the upside, the rest of us dairy-eaters got to enjoy pizza–guilt free.

 

Pizza Dough Recipe

Sprinkle 1 tbsp. of yeast over 1 cup of warm water with a spoonful of sugar. Allow to sit for a few minutes.

Add 2 tbsp oil, 2 cups of flour (I usually use half whole wheat) and 1/2 tsp. of salt.

Mix together, kneading until smooth. Grease a large bowl with a little oil. Turn dough to coat. Cover and let rise in a warm spot for an hour or so, until doubled.

Roll or stretch dough to fit a greased pizza pan.  Top with pizza sauce, cheese and favourite toppings.  Bake at 500 degrees F. for 10 minutes or until crust is browned and cheese is bubbly.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

