dairy-free · food · happy endings · healthy living · life · pinteresting · recipes

cha-cha-cha-chia

Am I the only one who thinks of this jingle from back in the day?  Let’s take a stroll down memory lane, shall we?  Christmas time.  Television ads capturing the hearts of children and the wallets of their parents. Remember Slinky, the wonderful toy song? “Batteries not included” caveats? The game of Trouble with the fancy pop-o-matic dice? Chia Pets, instantly growing “hair” and the catchy commercials that insisted a clay critter smeared with chia seeds was a “great gift”?  Everyone’s Christmas wish list included an Easy Bake Oven and a Chia Pet–or a Pet Rock in its own carry case. I’d always hoped for a chia pet.  I did get an Easy-Bake Oven, but my childhood dreams for a fluffy green dog (or lamb or whatever they were supposed to be) never did materialize.  As an adult, I have discovered that there is more to chia than what I was lead to believe as a child.  It turns out it’s not only a super-sprouter, but it’s a superfood…yes, you can actually eat chia seeds.  Who knew?

Food Matters lists fourteen health benefits of chia seeds, among which is the seed’s richness in antioxidants.  They also supply omega-3 fatty acids, loads of fibre and protein, calcium and iron, along with several other vitamins and minerals. (Please remember, I’m not an expert, just sharing what I’ve read.)

We first enjoyed some fruit flavoured chia water at a friend’s home some time ago.  It was surprisingly yummy…I’m assuming it tasted something like cold bubble tea, though I’ve never had it, so I can’t really say.  Anyway, I decided it was time to add this superfood to our culinary repertoire.  Tonight, my df girl wanted something tasty and dessert-like, so we opted for chia pudding.  It was easy as pie…ummm, pudding. We used this recipe (her photos are lovely, and much more professional-looking than mine!) for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Chia Seed Pudding.  Hard to go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter!

We used almond milk and peanut butter; we opted to use honey, as well, in our recipe.  Unfortunately, as I said, it was an impromptu event, so it was lacking in garnishes.  We had no berries, and no coconut milk ready for whipping, thus the nakedness of our final product. It was delicious: not too sweet, lovely and chocolatey with a hint of peanut butter. The texture with the seeds may be hard for some to swallow (pun intended), but I got over it quickly.  We will definitely be adding this treat regularly.

In case your stroll down memory lane left you longing for more, I thought I’d share this medley of retro tv commercials. Enjoy….

 

And if you’re so inclined, you may want to check out other chia seed recipes on my Pinterest board: yum! {cha-cha-cha-chia}

Leave a Reply

