family · food · penny pinchin' · pinteresting · recipes · what's for dinner?

tastes like chicken ~ honey soy chicken breasts

My cl boy begs for skinless, boneless chicken.  He is the most meticulous meat eater on the planet.  Not a speck of fat, a flake of char or minutest of skin will pass his inspection–or his lips for that matter.  In fact, it’s not just meat, but anything really.  His toast must be browned just so.  His cream cheese must meet every edge of his bagel.  His butter cannot miss a square nanometer of his mashed potatoes.  Salt must be distributed in precise form in order to allow complete coverage.  Chicken without skin and without bones is blissfully easy to consume.  We don’t eat a lot of this because–let’s face it–it’s just too expensive.  It’s safe to say, we buy our meat, almost exclusively, only when it’s on sale.  Thankfully, there was a sale on skinless, boneless chicken breasts.  It was like Christmas came early.

I decided to make Honey Soy Chicken from Table for Two.  The sauce has sesame oil, soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic and pepper.  Delish.

I decided to cut up my chicken in order for maximum sauce infusion.  I increased the sauce a little, because I had more chicken.  I let it hang out with the sauce while I got the rest of my dinner prepped. Oven roasted potatoes with garlic and sautéed broccoli and red pepper rounded out our meal.

I cooked it at 400 and it still caramelized nicely.  Have I mentioned that I am thankful to be reunited with my convection oven?  I put both dishes in the oven for about half an hour, giving it a stir midway.

Dinner in a hour or so?  Yes, please. Fast and easy…quite delicious.

img_5977

 

I’ve pinned lots of great chicken recipes…

Leave a Reply

